Hip Hop Nation & Father’s Day…All Rolled Into One Fine Weekend!

Well, I am running a couple of days behind on my bloggy blog.  Not sure if it’s getting the girls ready for camp, packing for Paris, trying to make sure I have worried about everything that could possibly go wrong…or a combination of all 3…However I find my mind wandering every which way but loose this week!  I think that is a sure fire I-Need-A-Vacay signal!

Enough about my current state of mind.

I am ready to recap the weekend!

Chloe’s hip hop dance recital on Saturday was cute as a button!  (Though, I am not sure “cute as a button” is street enough to describe a hip hop dance performance…)  We were slotted in the 11 a.m. time slot, smack dab in the middle of my prime pool time…why the planners that be over at Explore! didn’t check with me about this very important weekend time is beyond me—but I digress.

Chloe’s group was the BEST!  After several cute little kids watching their dance instructors in the wings slash waving at their parents in the audience while looking generally bewildered, we enjoyed a cohesive hip hop performance by 4 little white girls.  Larry & Melinda joined us as well, and we had a chance to pose for some sweet photo op’s after the show:

Yes, we are the whitest family in town.  REPRESENT!

What, what?  A headspin?  Oh no she didn’t….(really, she actually didn’t)

Here’s Grandma & Grandpa breaking it down for us:

On Sunday, the girls were super excited about the Father’s Day gifts they made for Brian.  A framed expression of “Brian is a great dad because…”  Chloe went with her “superhero” theme of late, and Casey went with a long wordy narrative about Brian helping her make important life decisions.  Both outstanding reasons!  We hung the frames in our bathroom, and hopefully when the girls are driving him banana sandwiches, he will reflect on this greater meaning in their being, and they will all hold hands and skip in harmony around the living room.  A girl can dream, right?

Papa & Amanda joined us for grillin’ and chillin’ poolside for lunch.  We had a nice visit, and even saw Papa get in the pool!  Crazy times…Alas, I wish I had my camera handy that day, but I was so preoccupied with making up for my lost sun time, I completely forgot.  The Coronas didn’t remind me, either. 

Sunday night we enjoyed our special Father’s Day dinner with perfectly prepared filet mignon (by our resident Griller In Chief), Casey’s salad with secret stolen a la Chloe, and sweet potatoes.  Don’t forget the cheesecake!

Great weekend, great times.  5813 is the place to be this summer!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

